History

The Pilot Station in Järnäs is probably the county of Västerbottens’s first, established in 1725. The first official station building was built in 1833. The current house was built on the island of Storbådan in 1861 and moved it’s current location in 1904.

The station was closed in 1967 and was property of the state until 2012 when the village association bought the house. The house serves as a B&B since 2014, allowing visitors to discover the coast of Västerbotten.